HYDE COUNTY HOTLINE, INC.

We are committed to promoting dignity, respect and safety at home resulting in safer community.

Visit us at: Website: HydeCounty-Hotline.org Facebook: Hyde County Hotline

This Is Why | Didn't Tell You He Was
Beating Me

Understanding the mind-set of a domestic violence victim is almost
impossible to do. Unless, like this writer, you've been one.

...One day you bump into her at the grocery store, and you’re shocked by her appearance.
She’d always been so meticulous about how she dressed, especially in public. And now she’s
wearing sweat pants—she’d never be caught dead wearing those outside of the house or
gym! Yet here she is, not only in sweats, but they’re stained, and she’s wearing a baggy T-
shirt, her hair, usually perfectly coiffed, now pulled into a sloppy ponytail. Her fingernails are
ragged and unpolished.

She looks tired.

But you’re so happy to see her you pull her into a tight hug. She stiffens in your arms, as
though she’s in pain. You let go—surprised. And then you take a really good look at her face.

She won’t meet your eyes. Her mouth trembles a little, and her lips are chapped. /s that a
fading bruise on her cheek? You're thinking. No, it must be the lighting.....Click to read.

Did you know?

On average, nearly 20 people per minute are physically
abused by an intimate partner in the United States. Dur-
ing one year, this equates to more than 10 million wom-
en and men
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What is the North Carolina Age of Consent?

The North Carolina Age of Consent is 16 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the
minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sex-
ual activity. Individuals aged 15 or younger in North Carolina are not legally able to consent to sexual
activity, and such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape.

North Carolina statutory rape law is violated when a person has consensual sexual intercourse with an

individual under age 16. A close in age exemption exists when the offender is less than 4 years older.

No employee of a K-12(unless they are not a teacher, administrator, student teacher, safety officer, or
coach) may engage in sexual activity with a student , unless they are married, regardless of age.

North Carolina Age Of Consent Law:
§ 14?27.7A. Statutory rape or sexual offense of person who is 13, 14, or 15 years old.

(a) A defendant is guilty of a Class Bl felony if the defendant engages in vaginal intercourse
or a sexual act with another person who is 13, 14, or 15 years old and the defendant is at least
six years older than the person, except when the defendant is lawfully married to the person.

(b) A defendant is guilty of a Class C felony if the defendant engages in vaginal intercourse or
a sexual act with another person who is 13, 14, or 15 years old and the defendant is more than
four but less than six years older than the person, except when the defendant is lawfully mar-
ried to the person.

Criminal Charge Severity Punishment

Incest Class B1 felony; Class C felony  Minimum sentence of imprisonment is 25 years
(defendant is give life w/o parole if victim under 12 or if defendant has prior B1 conviction ); 44 to
182 months in prison

Indecent liberties between children Class 1 misdemeanor Up to 120 days in prison

Intercourse and sexual offenses with certain victims Class E felony 15 to 63 months in
prison

Rape of a child (under 13) Class B1 felony Minimum sentence of imprisonment is 25 years
(defendant is give life w/o parole if victim under 12 or if defendant has prior B1 conviction )

Rape- first degree  Class B1 felony Minimum sentence of imprisonment is 25 years
(defendant is give life w/o parole if victim under 12 or if defendant has prior B1 conviction )

Sexual offense with a child (under 13) Class B1 felony Minimum sentence of imprison-
ment is 25 years (defendant is give life w/o parole if victim under 12 or if defendant has prior B1
conviction )

Sexual Offense- first degreeClass B1 felony Minimum sentence of imprisonment is 25 years
(defendant is give life w/o parole if victim under 12 or if defendant has prior B1 conviction )

Statutory rape or sexual offense of a person who is 13-15 years old  Class B1 felony; Class C
felony Minimum sentence of imprisonment is 25 years (defendant is give life w/o parole if victim
under 12 or if defendant has prior B1 conviction ); 44 to 182 months in prison

Taking indecent liberties with children Class F felony 10 to 41 months in prison
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What’s love got to do with
it?
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Sexual Assault

NOTHING!

There is not love involved; sexual assault is an act of power, force and control.

Sexual assault is any forced sexual activity that is against the person’s will. The force comes
in many forms: physical, mental and emotional coercion and/or manipulation. Sexual as-
sault is a term that encompasses many crimes against women including (but not limited to)
date rape, rape, dating violence and battering.

It is not your fault. Anyone can be a victim. A woman can be raped regardless of her age,
appearance and behaviors. Women who are ninety years old and even infants are raped.
You are not responsible for the behavior of an attacker merely because of what you wear,
where you are, what time you are out or who you are with.  continued on next page
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When confronted with sexual assault, it is normal for the victim to experience fear, anxiety and
helplessness. This is an understandable reaction under the circumstances, and a victim should
never be condemned for having suffered this common reaction. This unexpected flood of emo-
tions and fear is a normal outcome of the assault and can reoccur over time. Sometimes a victim
may experience “flashbacks” years after the attack. For your emotional health, you may want to
consider talking with a professional counselor you work through your anxieties.

You could have been attacked by a stranger, a date, a friend, a neighbor, a relative or even your
husband. Attackers can come from all areas of society regardless of age, race, appearance or so-
cial standing. More than likely the person who attacked you will be someone you know. Statistics
show that in nearly 80% of the cases the victim knew her assailant. Most attackers do not fit any
particular pattern; therefore, if you know your attacker, it does not make you a poor judge of char-
acter.

After a sexual assault you may be unsure what to do next. It is important for you to feel safe and
secure.

Your safety and health are priorities. Call 911 for assistance or go directly to an emergency medi-
cal facility. Ask to have a rape crisis counselor meet you. It is important that you seek medical
attention to check for STD’s, internal physical injuries or pregnancy. This should be done whether
or not you plan to file a criminal complaint against your attacker-it is for your health.

In spite of the fact that you feel like bathing, don’t clean up before going to the doctor. Preserve
all physical evidence. Do not shower, bathe or douche. Save the clothing you were wearing at the
time of the assault. Do not disturb anything in the area where the assault occurred.

If you would like the emotional support of a friend or relative, it’s okay to call someone. The rape
crisis counselor can help your friend or family member understand what is happening too.

Seek the counseling and information of the Hyde County Hotline. The aftermath of the assault can
be a difficult readjustment and grieving period for you and your family and friends. Hotline can
help with information, referrals for therapy or other needed services, accompaniment through the
court proceedings, and support during the healing process. Continued on next page



What does Hotline offer the
sexual assault victim?

Following a sexual assault, a rape crisis counselor provides:

Response to medical or law enforcement facilities to provide emotional support and information for
the victim.

Referral for appropriate counseling and victim services.

Support and advocacy as the sexual assault survivor makes decisions regarding options available
through the court.

If the world seems cold to you, kindle fires to warm it.”
~ Lucy Larcom

Warmth can be found in the support of friends, family and

caring professionals.

IT IS NOT YOUR FAULT!

Do not remain a silent victim.

For information or assistance...

Reach Out!

1-252-925-2500
24 hour crisis line

Hyde County Hotline, Inc.
A private, non-profit organization in Hyde County, NC dedicated to promoting
dignity, respect and safety at home resulting in safer communities.

PO Box 335
Engelhard, NC 27824
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Hyde
County
Hotline

Serving victims of Domestic Abuse
and Sexual Victimization

24 Hour Crisis Line
252 -925-2500

oooooooo , Engelhard, NC 27824

cacy Office 252-925-2502

We love Volunteers!

Please help and call

Hyde County Hotline
252-925-2502.
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Thank you to the family Violence Prevention Services Program
US DHHS, and NC Council for Women for financial support.




