You are here : Home > Boards & Committees > Hyde County Waterfowl Blind Committee

Hyde County Waterfowl Blind Committee

This advisory committee shall offer their assistance to the Hyde County Board of Commissioners in crafting a blind law system that 1) protects private landowner rights, (2) honors the local guiding tradition, and (3) creates economic demand for remaining hunting resources. 

Members were appointed by Hyde County Commissioners in three categories. The three classifications of member are landowners, guides, and public water hunters, plus an at large member to serve as moderator.

The advisory committee shall bring a set of recommendations back to the Hyde County Board of Commissioners on or before the regular November Board of Commissioners meeting. (Due to Hurricane Dorian recovery efforts, meetings were suspended until January 2020. Final recommendations will be sent to the commissioners as soon as possible once meetings start again)

Committee Members

Gregory Berry (Landowner)
Marco Gibbs (Public Water Hunter)
Teddy Gibbs (Guide)
Randy Hignite (Landowner)
Adam Jones (Guide)
Brett Mason (Guide)
Thomas Edward Newman (Public Water Hunter)
Michael Dean Sadler (Public Water Hunter)
Donnie Shumate (Moderator)
Ray Tooley (Landowner)

Meeting Dates / Minutes
Meetings will be held at the Hyde County Government Center at 7:00 pm unless otherwise noted. Minutes will be posted after they have been reviewed and approved at the following meeting.

April 9, 2019 - Meeting Minutes 
May 8, 2019 - Meeting Minutes
June 12, 2019 - Meeting Minutes
July 10, 2019
August 14, 2019
January 15, 2020

Submit Comments to the Committee